Travel And Fashion

The Seattle Art Museum and Fashion: What I Wore and Experienced

I am a big believer in the arts. So, when my therapist told me that I should take a day for myself, I decided that I would finally go to the Seattle Art Museum. I had been putting it off because I didn’t want to go alone, yet that happened to be the best way to experience the museum. Every first Thursday of the month, the Seattle Art Museum lets the public enter the museum for free and special exhibitions are half off. The line was large on Thursday but I stuck to my guns and went inside. I am so happy that I did. The works displayed were captivating, historic, awe-inspiring, and so many other things that it would take an entire post to list all the adjectives. I especially loved all the history that was on display.

Something that I was extremely grateful for was being able to go a little interactive tour. The Seattle Art Museum has a number you can call to learn more about a piece that has a code you put in when you call. That was especially amazing for me because I got to hear about paintings and sculptures as well as textiles that I wouldn’t have known just looking at them. For instance, in the African Art gallery, there was a coffin from Ghana that was shaped like a Mercedes Benz. When someone dies, family and friends make a coffin that represents who that person is or what they did for a living. Wouldn’t you rather be buried in a work of art than a boring wood coffin? Here are a few of my favorite pieces from my visit!

The exhibitions you can find that are currently on display are Common Pleasures: Art of Urban Life in Edo Japan which runs through October 22, Sam Gilliam which runs through November 26, and the Seattle Art Museum’s special exhibition; Yayoi Kusama: Infinity Mirrors which runs through September 10.

When you go to an art museum, you should also dress like a piece of art, and that is exactly what I did. I wore an Anthropologie Maeve dress from that I bought for $30 and Eileen Fisher gladiator sandals. I carried a Kate Spade satchel that I bought for $70. My secret? Poshmark! It is a free app that you can find second hand or new designer (or not) clothing for cheap. Not only can you buy clothes, but you can sell them as well. You can find pieces that are on trend and clear out your closet at the same time. It has over 5 million downloads and has a 4.3-star rating on Google Play Store. Have a boyfriend or husband and/or kids? You can sell their clothing as well.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

What art work inspires you? Is there an art museum near you that I should make a trip to see? Do you use any apps to buy clothing to help you look like a piece of art? Let me know in the comments below and don’t forget to follow me on Twitter and Instagram and Like Clarissa Joy on Facebook.

 

(Psst…Anthropologie and Eileen Fisher is a brand that caters to petite women. Find out why some don’t.)

One thought on “The Seattle Art Museum and Fashion: What I Wore and Experienced

Leave a Reply

